Are Pringles Vegan?

So do you know if Pringle’s are vegan? The only Pringles that are sold in the United States that are vegan are the Original, Reduced Fat and the Original Lightly Salted. The other US flavors are made with some animal products, such as milk or whey.

Pringles are a kind of chip that has been loved by many for a long time. They are a hit with their memorable and fun shape and an array of flavors, they’ve been a popular snack choice for everyone.

One of the things that make pringles distinctive is the variety of varieties of flavors and the fact that they constantly update their menu and come up with new and distinctive flavors.

With so many varieties of flavors, it could be difficult for people who are vegans to figure out which ones are safe to consume, particularly with all the varieties available on the market.

Read on to discover the story behind Pringles as well as their widespread appeal, as well as nutritional details on vegetarian and vegan Pringle flavors as well as to discover whether Pringles are also dairy-free, vegetarian gluten-free, kosher, or gluten-free.

What Are Pringles?

The invention of Pringles began because people were fed up with dry, smelly, and bland potato chips.

It was in 1956 that the firm Procter & Gamble asked a chemical engineer by the name of Fredric J. Baur to assist them to develop the best chip.

Baur was successful with his invention and was the person who created the well-known resealable container and the smile-shaped chip we’ve come to enjoy. The design of the containers and chips was (and remains) distinct from other chips that are available!

The main problem? The chips tasted terrible.

Then, a few years later Procter & Gamble tried once more to develop the top chip available, employing Baur’s techniques, but changing the recipe to incorporate a mixture of dehydrated rice, potatoes wheat, corn, and wheat.

The adjustments proved successful, so Pringles was created in the year 1968.

There were some problems with the shape of Pringles and a lot of people were dissatisfied that they called themselves chips.

In the 1970s the perception was that Pringles were unlikely to take off because so many people had different opinions about its use. But, as the 1980s began to arrive, the demand and popularity of Pringles were on the rise.

There’s no clear answer on why this happened, however, certain people believe the reason is the Brad Pitt commercial while others believe the credit lies with Procter and Gamble’s campaign “Fever for the Flavor of Pringles.”

No matter how or why they became popular, Pringles became a superstar in the world of chips.

They are available in over 140 countries and have an average of 30-40 flavors available at any given moment (they have developed over 200 distinct flavors throughout the globe!)

Pringles are unlike any other chips available and their distinctive shape and flavor have helped them become a hit all across the globe.

Is Pringles Vegan?

If you’re vegan, it’s difficult to find snack items that are suitable for your lifestyle. A lot of chips available that are available contain dairy which makes it difficult to find a snack that’s safe for you to consume.

If you’re who are following a vegan diet, I have good news as well as bad news. The good news is that it is that the Original Pringles flavor is vegan However, the downside is the fact that there are no other US flavors currently available.

Pringles That Are Vegan Friendly

As we mentioned earlier that there aren’t many vegan alternatives to Pringles at home in the United States.

If you went to another country, such as the United Kingdom or Australia, you’d see that some of their flavors are vegan.

In the UK they offer other vegan options like Paprika or their own version of barbecue, which is the Texas barbecue flavor. However, the barbecue of the United States Pringle isn’t vegan and neither are the other well-known flavor options.

Also, the vegan options available in the United States are Original Pringles as well as the low sodium and low-fat versions from the Original.

The Original Pringles

Original Pringles are packaged in their trademark tube-like container with lids that are resealable and come with a classic red color.

Original Pringles are made up of the following ingredients:

  • dried potatoes
  • vegetable oil
  • Corn cottonseed
  • high-oleic soybean
  • sunflower oil
  • desgerminated yellow cornflour
  • cornstarch
  • rice flour
  • maltodextrin
  • mono and diglycerides
  • salt
  • Wheat starch

As you will see, all these ingredients can be consumed by vegans. They might not be the most nutritious of ingredients but they’re not made from animal products and are suitable for a vegan diet.

Original Pringles taste very salty They also have a slightly ridged texture.

Rice flour, starch from wheat, and cornflour provide them with a texture and taste that’s unlike other chips on the market. They are specially made using potatoes.

As a result the way you take a bite of the Pringle chips, they are crisp and are crisp and tasty. the bite, but they are different from other products made of chips.

Pringles also offers a “wavy” version of this chip that is vegan.

The Original is lightly salted

These Lightly Salted Original Pringles are nearly identical to the original version, but there’s one difference. That’s correct! The difference is in the quantity that they contain salt.

They’re even with the same red bottle with only an alteration to the design, as it features a huge cloud-like design on the front which states that it is less salty.

The Original Pringles taste sweet, the Lightly Salted Variety keeps the sodium to the minimum. In particular, they boast that this variant contains 50 percent less sodium than the original however it has a similar texture, crunch, and taste.

The Lightly Salted Original Pringles are made with the following ingredients:

  • dried potatoes
  • vegetable oil
  • Corn cottonseed
  • high-oleic soybean
  • sunflower oil
  • desgerminated yellow cornflour
  • cornstarch
  • rice flour
  • maltodextrin
  • mono and diglycerides
  • salt
  • Wheat starch

You can clearly see that they are exactly identical ingredients, within the same quantity. Also, they are vegan, which could be a healthier choice since they have less salt.

The only differentiator is the flavor because the Original version is saltier in comparison to its Lightly Salted.

Low-Fat Original

The Original Pringle with Reduced Fat is almost similar to its original however it has less fat.

They are packaged inside the exact container and look exactly like those in the Lightly Salted version with a cloud-like appearance on the front, which states it’s reduced fat, not reduced salt.

As with the other two versions, the Reduced Fat version of these chips comes with exactly the identical ingredientsThe only difference is the fat content. The Original contains nine grams of fat, while the Reduced fat version has 7 grams of fat.

But, since there’s only a 2-gram variation in the fat percentage the Reduced Fat Pringles taste extremely similar to the original flavor.

Non-Vegan Pringles

If you’re vegan and are looking for a Pringle within the US the options are restricted.

You can have Pringles as they were in the original form, or in a variant of the original, however, there are currently no other Pringles varieties available that you can try.

The reason is due to two major ingredients that Pringles make use of to flavor its products:

Milk, Buttermilk along with Cheese

Each Pringle flavor that is currently available offered on the market is made up of some kind of dairy. The most commonly used ingredients include buttermilk, milk as well as some type that is made of cheese.

Even flavor combinations that do not seem to contain dairy in them, such as Salt and Vinegar, Jalapeno, or Barbecue all come with some kind of dairy-based product.

Not only the original Pringles and their latest version, called a Wavy Chip (which is a ridged chip that is similar to the Ruffle chip) All of them contain milk products as their flavors.


The other ingredient commonly used in Pringle flavoring is whey.

It is an amino acid produced by dairy. In the process of making cheese using milk, when the curds have been separated, there is a small amount of water from the milk left. The liquid is called whey.

In many cases, used in Pringles the flavoring, both whey and other dairy products such as buttermilk, milk, as well as cheese. This is why all the flavors, except the original ones, aren’t considered vegan.

A possible non-vegan ingredient: Mono and Diglycerides

There’s another ingredient within all Pringles that vegans might be able to avoid: di and mono.

Mono, Diglycerides, and fatty acids serve as additives to food products. They’re typically utilized as an emulsifier for food products.

They could come from animals or plants. Therefore, the problem is that food manufacturers such as Pringles are not required to disclose where they came from when they list their ingredients.

However, Pringles do sport the “vegan” and “vegetarian” sticker on their original flavor, leading consumers to believe that the mono and diglycerides originate from plants. If this is a huge worry for you, it is best to avoid it.

It is ultimately your choice whether you’re comfortable using the label of the Original Pringles packaging.

Non-Vegan Pringles Flavors

We’ve looked at Pringles that are vegan, let’s take a look closer at the most well-known Pringles flavor, which are available in a variety of packs that include the original flavor, which isn’t vegan:

Sour Cream and Onion

If you’re not vegan but are a Pringle user, then you’ve probably had a taste of this Sour Cream and Onion variety.

The famous green resealable tubular which houses the flavor of Sour Cream And Onion flavors are among the most sought-after in retail stores. Sometimes, you’ll find this flavor along with the Original available in the form of a variety pack.

What is it that makes Sour Cream and Onion Pringle so well-known is that it has a salty-sweet and creamy taste as a result of slicing it.

The principal ingredients of this sour cream and onion variety are identical to the original. However, what is unique about them is a blend of cream buttermilk, non-fat milk yeast extract, sour-cream as well as whey along with onions powder.

Although they’re delicious, the ingredients prove they’re not vegan. Even though yeast is vegan-friendly, a very small minority of vegans may still avoid it no matter how much yeast is included.


Another flavor that is popular with Pringles cans is the Barbecue flavor, and they typically come as part of an assortment pack.

The product is available in the form of a dark purple tube these tangy, smoky-sweet chips are delicious. Their flavor comes from garlic powder, whey as well as onion powder, spice as well as tomato powder, and various flavoring ingredients.

But, as you’ll observe by the addition of Whey the barbecue chips are not suitable for vegans even though you might not think of getting barbecue flavor and taste.

These are not acceptable for vegans.


The last flavor widely regarded as the one most liked is Cheddar that, based on its name, is evidently not vegan!

Cheddar Pringles Cheddar Pringles are a bright orange-colored snack, and an orange-colored sealed tube. They are incredibly salty, cheesy, and sweet.

The cheesy flavor comes by combining the powdered onion, cheddar cheese buttermilk, blue cheese nonfat milk, and butter..

As you can observe, there are many dairy products within the cheddar category, which makes them a definite non-vegan.

Other Flavors Not Vegetarian

A few other non-vegan-flavored Pringles that are available include Salt and Vinegar, Jalapeno Pizza, Ranch Dill Pickle, and Honey Mustard.

Pringles also come with Wavy varieties that have the same curvaceous shape, but instead of having a smooth surface, they have ribs that look like waves (hence that’s the reason for their title!)

The Applewood Smoked wavy Cheddar, Jalapeno Fire Roasted, Sweet and Spicy BBQ, and many more are all non-vegan.

Yet, Pringles are putting new flavors onto the market in a hurry! Always check the label carefully because you do not know when a new vegan flavor might be available.

Other Questions Asked

After we’ve addressed the question of whether Pringles have a vegan ingredient, let’s have a look at some related questions about the subject!

Is Pringles Vegetarian?

The majority of Pringles that are available on the US market are vegan. Since vegetarians are able to consume animal products, but not animals, each of the flavors we have mentioned in this article are enjoyed by people who are vegetarian.

The Rotisserie Chicken, as well as the Wendy’s Spicy Chicken flavors, can be enjoyed since they don’t use any animal for flavoring. They use natural flavors to give the meat flavor.

A lot of Pringles containers will feature a vegetarian option on the package to shoppers shop more easily. If you’re concerned, you should verify that.

Is Pringles Gluten-Free?

Unfortunately, there are no Pringles available on the US market today that are gluten-free.

Each Pringle flavor even the Original is made up of some form of gluten (most probably wheat starch) which makes these chips unpalatable for those suffering from an intolerance or allergy to gluten.

Is Pringles Dairy-Free?

Unfortunately, the only dairy-free Pringles available include three varieties: the Original, Lightly Salted Original along with the Reduced Fat Original. The three varieties don’t contain any dairy products.

The other Pringle Flavor contains a certain kind of dairy items, such as buttermilk, milk, or cheese. It could also include whey.

Be aware when buying Pringles which may appear to be dairy-free based on their names such as Salt and Vinegar or Jalapeno or they may contain a form that is made of milk.

Is Pringles Kosher?

There’s good news for people who are Kosher: all Pringle flavor that is made within the United States is Kosher approved!

On certain cans, you could find Hebrew written on them, which is a Kosher certification, which makes it easier for those who consume Kosher.

However, since Pringles have a habit of constantly changing flavors and adding new products Always check the packaging prior to eating.

Norah Clark

Norah Clark

Norah Clark, the founder and editor of YummyTasteFood! She's a seasoned food writer and editor with over a decade of experience in the hospitality industry as a former pastry chef, sous chef, and barista. When not writing about food, she explores new recipes or travels the world for culinary inspiration.