Pizza is very much an umbrella phrase. There’s pizza with pepperoni. There is also anchovy pizza. There’s also vegetarian pizza. Also, there’s always controversy when you mention a pizza with pineapple.
This isn’t even scratching the tip of an iceberg with pizza options. Yet, despite their different characteristics each of these pizzas, as well as the majority of pizzas sold in the market share one thing they all have in common: gluten.
Gluten plays a significant part in the majority of pizza recipes that are traditional, which is why celiacs face limited choices when they go to the typical pizzerias within New York or Chicago (and that’s not even if they have alternatives in the first place).
Worry not, gluten-free pizza lovers! While they may be somewhat difficult to locate there are gluten-free pizzas available and are available from a number of famous pizzerias, such as Domino’s Pizza Hut and Domino’s. Pizza Hut.
Pizza that is gluten-free can be bought frozen at the majority of big-name grocery stores, as in specialist shops on the internet as well as in the real world. Certain manufacturers of frozen gluten-free pizzas also offer their pizzas online on Amazon or eBay!
Fact checked and verified by Sarah Glinski, RD. Sarah is a Registered Dietitian and freelance writer based in Canada. She has experience in a wide variety of practice areas, including weight management, renal, oncology, diabetes, and gastrointestinal disorders. In her spare time, you can find her reading a fantasy novel or hanging out with her husband and two cats.
Ingredients of Gluten-Free Pizza Crust
Although the amount of gluten in pizza is affected to a certain extent by the toppings used, the most significant concern for celiacs is from the crust, the foundation of the typical pizza.
A majority of the pizzerias as well as frozen pizza brands depend on wheat flour as the main ingredient in their pizza bases and crusts. This naturally can cause problems for people who have to adhere to the gluten-free diet since wheat flour is very high in gluten and when consumed in the quantities required to make even a tiny pizza can cause havoc to the digestive system of those with sensitive issues.
A pizza crust that is gluten-free has no wheat flour and therefore is safe for people with celiac disease or other pizza enthusiasts who need to avoid gluten regardless of reasons of health or just out of personal choice. If not wheat flour is the ingredient, then what exactly is a gluten-free pizza crust made from?
There are several ways for wheat flour substitutes which are the most well-known are discussed below.
Rice flour is often used to replace wheat flour. It is used in making gluten-free pizzas. There are two types of rice flour to select from white rice flour and brown rice flour, but there are differences between the two that are not significant.
In addition to being gluten-free Rice flour also has numerous benefits over wheat. For instance, it is rich in fiber and helps ensure the health of your digestive system, while wheat flour could cause the opposite.
There is evidence that suggests that rice flour is beneficial to the performance of your liver. However, if rice flour’s benefits are excellent what is the reason it isn’t employed in all gluten-free pizza recipes? The answer isn’t in the flavor or texture of the rice, but rather in its texture.
Rice flour, regardless of whether it’s brown or white, produces a flaky, almost like pastry pizza crust. It is best to avoid it if you’re trying to make a gluten-free pizza that is as similar in texture and taste to traditional pizza as possible.
If the gluten-free pizza crust does not depend on rice flour as the primary ingredient, there’s an excellent chance that the recipe used manioc instead. Manioc flour is much more adaptable than rice flour, and it is frequently used in stews and soups as a thickening agent however, it can also be used as a perfect substitute for wheat flour within many different gluten-free crusts for pizza.
In addition to being more able to re-creating the classic pizza crust rice flour is also low in sugar, fat, and sugar. This is why you should opt for the manioc flour-based gluten-free pizza for those who are trying to reduce their weight.
If you’ve purchased gluten-free pizza, but you can’t locate manioc flour as one of the ingredients It could be included. Manioc flour is actually known under a variety of names and is often described as “tapioca flour” or “cassava flour” in recipes and cookbooks.
Cauliflower isn’t featured all that often in commercially-produced gluten-free crusts for pizza. It shows on a regular basis in homemade gluten-free pizzas so it’s worth giving the idea a thought if you want to make the gluten-free pizza of your dreams at home.
In order to replicate the grainy texture of wheat flour the cauliflower needs to be sliced or placed in the food processor, and it’s definitely more time-consuming than the other two alternatives. But, cauliflower offers its own distinct benefit including improving cardiovascular health and enhancing the absorption of iron.
Cauliflower is even proven to fight the growth of cancerous cells This isn’t something you can say of manioc or rice flour.
Heya, I’m Norah! The foodie editor here at YummyTasteFood! I love absolutely everything to do with food, baking, and eating! I earned my stripes in the hospitality industry as a pastry chef, sous chef, and barista. I’m now a freelance writing nomad. I do not miss the hospitality industry! Be sure to join our Facebook group – it’s free to access!