Are Graham Crackers Vegan?

Are Graham Crackers vegan? Sadly, they aren’t vegan because they are often made with honey. However, it’s easy to find vegan Graham Crackers online. Their vegan-friendly differs based on their brands.

Graham crackers taste sweet (but not overly sugary) crackers made from Graham flour. They are typically consumed as a snack or in a variety of recipes.

They are available in various flavors like chocolate, cinnamon, and honey. They have been used for quite a while, first discovered in the United States in the mid-19 century.

They remind us of our childhood and can be enjoyed plain or dipped into milk for a delicious and delicious teatime snack. They can also be used to make s’mores or eaten with applesauce or peanut butter.

Graham crackers can also be a fantastic ingredient to bake with and go well with classic dessert flavors like peanut butter and chocolate.

Once crumbs are made, they can be used to make a crust for cheesecakes, pies, and other non-bake desserts, or they can be used in place of flour for numerous recipes.

Graham crackers are created from healthy ingredients, contain fewer calories, and are fiber-rich. But, given their portion size, they are rich in sugar and carbs and should be consumed in moderate quantities.

With the increasing acceptance and acceptance of veganism. One of the most frequently asked questions about Graham crackers is whether or not they are vegan.

Find out what the graham crackers consist of, vegan brands of graham crackers that are available as well as those that aren’t vegan, and more:

Traditional Graham Cracker Ingredients

Graham crackers are available in a variety of types and are manufactured by a variety of companies that use various kinds of ingredients.

Although most main ingredients are the same, they use a few extra ingredients to distinguish their product from others.

An ordinary graham cracker could contain the following ingredients:

  • Flour that is enriched
  • Whole grain flour
  • Graham flour
  • Sugar
  • Honey
  • Salt
  • Vegetable oil
  • Corn syrup
  • Cinnamon
  • Dextrose
  • Soy Lecithin
  • The leavening (baking soda and calcium phosphate)
  • Nature-based flavor

From the ingredients listed, three specific ingredients aren’t and may not be vegan food items. Honey is the most obvious ingredient. Any graham cracker with honey is not vegan.

The other component is sugar, and it’s very controversial. While sugar is a vegetarian product, it is often produced using bone char, which is made from animal bones and is, as you can see, non-vegan.

The majority of companies utilize this sugar, and even though the particles aren’t in refined sugar, It’s up to your taste and whether this is acceptable to your taste or not.

The third ingredient in question is a natural flavoring that could originate from animals or plants and is not vegan unless specifically stated.

Vegan Graham Cracker Brands

Graham crackers have been known to contain honey, and since vegans take a strong position against all forms of animal abuse, including honey, they stay clear of honey and any food items that contain honey.

Does that mean vegans shouldn’t take graham crackers for a snack?

Many brands use honey and other non-vegan ingredients; many want to create vegan versions of their most loved products.

Finding vegan graham crackers has been relatively simple in recent years. Here are a few of the most well-known vegan brands of graham crackers:

1. Nabisco Original Graham Crackers

Nabisco Original Graham Crackers are honey-free and vegan. Apart from being vegan, they are also considered a healthy snack because they contain zero cholesterol and are low in fat.

Enjoy these delicious crackers with no worries about your health while making sure that you are the consumption of products that hurt or harm animals.

The list of ingredients includes the following: Ingredients:

  • Flour that is enriched
  • Graham flour
  • Sugar
  • Hydrogenated soya oil that is partially hydrolyzed
  • Molasses preserved by sulfur dioxide
  • Corn syrup with high fructose
  • The leavening (baking soda and calcium phosphate)
  • Salt
  • Malted barley flour

2. Keebler The Original Graham Crackers

Keebler is a renowned snack brand that makes various graham crackers suitable for vegans and those who are not.

They’re sweeter than Nabisco’s original Graham crackers and are a great base for desserts.

They’re also a great alternative to satisfy your sugar cravings, with the perfect amount of sugar that’s neither too much nor too overwhelming.

In addition to Keebler’s original Graham Crackers, the company has different vegan varieties. These include Keebler’s Low Fat Cinnamon and Low Fat Cinnamon and Keebler chocolate Elf Grahams.

Additionally, their Ready Pie Crust is vegan-friendly and is loved by vegans across the nation.

They contain the following list of ingredients:

  • An enriched flour
  • Graham flour
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Canola oil
  • Molasses
  • Corn syrup
  • Levanting (baking soda and sodium acid pyrophosphate monocalcium phosphate)
  • Soy Lecithin

3. Nairn’s Original Oat Grahams that are Gluten Free

These gluten-free Oat Graham crackers by Nairn’s are a fantastic alternative for vegans and those on a gluten-free diet.

Apart from being vegan and completely gluten-free, They are also considered a healthy snack that contains vital nutrients like complex carbohydrates and insoluble and soluble fibers.

The list of ingredients includes the following: Ingredients:

  • Gluten-free whole grain oats
  • Sustainable palm oil
  • Brown sugar
  • Golden syrup
  • Tapioca starch
  • Agent for raising (sodium bicarbonate)
  • Sea salt

Take note: they could contain traces of tree nuts, milk, and peanuts. It is possible that they will not be suitable who are allergic to the protein Avenin.

4. Kinnikinnick S’moreables Graham Style Crackers

Kinnikinnick is a well-known brand made of gluten-free ingredients that also produces vegan Graham crackers.

Their Graham Style S’moreables Crackers are among their most sought-after products. They are vegan, gluten-free, and dairy-free; however, they may contain eggs because of cross-contamination.

The following list of ingredients:

  • Starch from pea
  • Oil from palm
  • Rice flour from brown
  • Potato starch
  • Brown sugar
  • Sweet rice flour
  • Tapioca starch
  • Water
  • Cane sugar
  • Rice bran
  • Molasses
  • Tapioca syrup
  • Salt
  • Sodium bicarbonate
  • Pea protein
  • Nature-based flavor
  • Pea fiber
  • Sunflower Lecithin
  • Inulin
  • Monocalcium phosphate
  • Cellulose
  • Guar gum

Take note: The oil palm is thought of as a non-vegan substance by many vegans because its extraction causes animal and nature exploitation and causes them a lot of suffering.

5. Nabisco Chocolate Flavored Teddy Grahams

To have a fun twist on Graham crackers, look at Nabisco’s Teddy Grahams, which have the shape of Teddy bears. They come with delicious cinnamon, chocolate, and chocolate-chip flavors, each vegan.

Their most well-known flavor, honey, is not vegan and should be avoided. But you can opt for other flavors to enjoy tasty bee-friendly treats.

They contain the following list of ingredients:

  • Graham flour
  • Enriched, unbleached flour
  • Sugar
  • Soybean or Canola oil
  • Cocoa
  • Cocoa press with alkali
  • Dextrose
  • Calcium carbonate
  • Maltodextrin
  • Baking soda
  • Salt
  • Natural flavor (contains barley)
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Chocolate
  • Artificial flavor

Alternative Vegan Graham Cracker Options

Here are some other vegan graham crackers to offer an additional option if you are looking for delicious vegan food items:

  • Annie’s Organic Chocolate Chip Bunny Grahams
  • Annie’s Organic Birthday Cake Bunny Grahams
  • Annie’s Organic Chocolate Bunny Grahams
  • Annie’s Gluten-Free Cocoa & Vanilla Bunny Grahams
  • Annie’s Gluten Free Snickerdoodle Bunny Grahams
  • Kroger Original Graham Crackers
  • Fantastic Value Graham Fudge Cookies

Non-Vegan Graham Cracker Brands

It shouldn’t be any surprise when we inform you that most products that sell graham crackers on the market aren’t vegan-friendly.

If you’re a vegan, it’s crucial to look over the ingredients in the products you buy, particularly when it comes to graham crackers, since they almost always contain honey.

Here’s a list of the top well-known non-vegan brands of graham crackers that are available on the market:

1. Honey Maid

Honey Maid is one of the most well-known Graham cracker brands sold within the United States that are available in a variety of flavors, including Original Low Fat Cinnamon, Original, and Chocolate.

Unfortunately, none are vegan since all contain honey that is real.

2. Annie’s Homegrown

Annie’s Homegrown is another popular brand of Graham Crackers that creates several kinds of delicious snacks.

While a handful of their products are vegan but the Organic Honey Grahams do not because they are made of organic honey.

It is important to remember that these products are produced by the same machinery which processes soy and milk products, so those who are susceptible to allergies should take note.

3. Market Pantry

Market Pantry’s Honey Graham crackers have real honey and are not vegan-friendly. They’re also processed using the same equipment used to process eggs and milk. Therefore those with allergies should beware and stay away from them.

The Best Vegan Substitutes for Graham Crackers

There are many vegan-friendly graham crunch choices available If for any reason you don’t want to go with them, or they aren’t accessible, what do you do?

Are there vegan alternatives for Graham crackers? Yes, they are! You’ll be amazed to find out how readily they can be located in all grocery stores and how delicious they taste.

Some of the most delicious vegan alternatives to Graham crackers are:

1. Oreos

Oreos are among the most sought-after cookies in the world. They are accessible everywhere, even if you live in the desert.

The best part is that they’re vegan-friendly, even if it’s accidental, and they are definitely vegan.

If you don’t want to use graham crackers in S’mores, consider Oreos (S’moreos) as a substitute. You’ll thank us in the future. They are also a great cake crust, desserts, and pie.

2. Enjoy Life Soft Baked Cookies

They can be located in the gluten-free and vegan sections of most supermarkets and grocery stores and are an excellent alternative to vegan food that is allergy-friendly and contains ingredients.

3. Eat Pastry Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

All Eat Pastry products are 100 vegans, and make excellent alternatives to graham crackers, particularly the chocolaty chip cookie dough.

They can be eaten raw or baked into a tasty cookie at your home. They can be enjoyed as is or used as a base for your desserts.

Making Vegan Graham Crackers At Home

If you don’t need to rely on a store-bought vegan graham cracker, don your chef’s hat and apron and make your own.

They’re incredibly simple to make and can be baked in only two minutes. What’s more, is knowing exactly the ingredients used in the recipe.

There is some waiting time in the process. You have to allow the dough to sit in the refrigerator for one hour before forming it and then baking it.

You can also prepare the dough and bake the vegan graham crackers the next day.

The vegan ingredient list comprises:

  • Flour (graham or regular whole wheat or all-purpose)
  • Brown sugar
  • Maple syrup
  • Organic butter
  • Cinnamon
  • Salt
  • Baking soda
  • Baking powder
  • Water

Here’s what you should do:

  • Preheat your oven to 350°F and then line an oven surface with parchment.
  • Mix all dry elements.
  • Then, add the wet ingredients to the mix and mix in other dry ingredients until the mix appears like wet sand.
  • Spread the wet sand mixture on the baking sheet, and then shape it into an oval. You can employ a rolling pin and another baking sheet over the dough to smooth the dough further.
  • Be sure to leave ample room between the edges of your dough and the edges of the baking sheets.
  • The edges should be flattened, and then cover any cracks using tiny pieces of crumbles.
  • Cut the dough that has been flattened out in the shape you would like the graham crackers to be.
  • Bake the cookies for about 14 mins and then let them cool completely until about 5 mins before moving them onto an air cooling rack.

Other Questions Asked

Here are some similar concerns about graham crackers, whether they can be eaten by those who are vegetarians, sufferers of gluten allergies, and more!

Are Graham Crackers Vegetarian?

None of the graham crackers listed are Vegan, but they are generally vegetarian. Vegans are not able to cut out meat from their diets. However, they can eat items made from animals, such as eggs or milk. Honey, too.

Because graham crackers do not typically contain any actual animal products in them, it’s reasonable to conclude that they’re safe for vegetarians.

Although it’s not likely to find non-vegetarian graham crackers, it’s a good idea to review the ingredients list since certain flavored crackers could use natural flavors, which may contain meat or other ingredients.

To stay safe, If it’s not specifically stated, it’s recommended to avoid graham crackers with natural flavors. It is also possible to contact the manufacturer and ask for the information.

Are Graham Crackers Gluten-Free?

Traditional Graham crackers are made with flour graham made from wheat and not gluten-free. So, it’s reasonable to conclude that most famous graham crackers are not gluten-free.

Although gluten-free Graham cracker brands are on the market, they’re limited and hard to locate. Some options comprise Pamela’s or Kinnikinnick, and you could make your own at home.

Are Graham Crackers Kosher?

There is no guarantee that all graham crackers can be considered kosher. Because most graham crackers have leavening, they’re not considered kosher.

Some may also contain natural flavors, which might or may not include meat, which is contraindicated by the basic kosher laws.

However, certain brands, such as Lieber’s Kosher Honey Graham Crackers, manufacture kosher crackers.

Norah Clark

Norah Clark

Norah Clark, the founder and editor of YummyTasteFood! She's a seasoned food writer and editor with over a decade of experience in the hospitality industry as a former pastry chef, sous chef, and barista. When not writing about food, she explores new recipes or travels the world for culinary inspiration.

Exclusive Coupons & Discounts and Yummy Recipes!

Sign up to our free newsletter!