Are Cheetos Vegan?

So, are Cheetos vegan? Cheetos are not vegan, unfortunately. Cheetos aren’t vegan friendly since they contain dairy products and animal products. Cheetos contain cheese, such as whey, and cheese derived from the rennet, which is also non-vegan.

Cheetos are among the most delicious snacks you can find. They are the perfect snack to eat while watching your favorite films during a night out with friends.

I used to love eating Cheetos while having a cold beer, but since introducing a vegan diet into my lifestyle, I can no longer enjoy those cheesy, delicious snacks!

Additionally, there are a variety of recipes that use Cheetos as a component, making the snack crunchier and delicious. However, if you’re a vegetarian there are some questions about whether Cheetos are truly vegan.

In this article we’ll go over the reasons Cheetos aren’t vegan. We’ll also discuss the alternatives you can make to replace them.

What are Cheetos?

Cheetos are a kind of cheese corn-puffs that are sold in the US in addition to across the world. began in 1948, but today, the two companies PepsiCo and Frito-Lay are both a part of The Cheetos company.

In the past, Cheetos has become a well-known snack for many who are fans of chips as well as party food alike.

This is due to the fact that Cheetos come with a distinct and delicious flavor that is unlike other snacks. They also come with spicy flavors for those who prefer a bit of spice to their meals.

But, the biggest drawback to Cheetos is that they’re not designed for vegans.

Is Cheetos Vegan?

There are over 20 varieties of Cheetos available. The sad reality is that none of these Cheetos varieties in the US are vegan..

It is clear the fact that Cheetos aren’t vegan because they contain a lot of cheese and milk within the snack. The cheese is Rennet-based (from the stomach lining) cheese, which is non-vegan as well in non-vegetarian.

If you’re in search of an alternative that is vegan make sure that the ingredients don’t include animal-based milk or cheese. In lieu, the product should include vegan alternatives like soy derivatives and vegan cheese.

What are the ingredients used in Cheetos?

As we’ve mentioned earlier, Cheetos has a variety of ingredients, and the components will differ. However, certain ingredients can are not suitable for vegans.

For example, if you’ve looked over the ingredients at the back of the package, you’ll discover “Cheese Seasoning”. The cheese seasoning includes:

  • Milk is dairy-based product
  • Cheddar cheese is composed of cheese cultures salt, milk, and enzymes
  • Whey – dairy-based product

Three ingredients provide the main proof Cheetos are not vegan..

It’s certain that if vegan, you ought to try to find vegan alternative to Cheetos.

Is Hot Cheetos Vegan?

Hot Cheetos or Flamin Hot Cheetos are becoming very popular due to their spice and crunchy texture. But is it true that they are Vegan?

In the end, the answer is no–they are made from animal products such as buttermilk, cheese, and so on.

Let’s have a review of the ingredient list within Hot Cheetos:

  • Hydrolyzed Corn Protein
  • Artificial Color
  • Garlic Powder
  • Monosodium Glutamate
  • Sugar
  • Vegetable Oil
  • Flamin”Hot Seasoning
  • The Corn Syrup Solids
  • Whey
  • Onion Powder
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Enriched Corn Meal
  • Salt
  • Buttermilk
  • Citric Acid
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Concentrate of Whey Protein
  • Extracting Yeast

As you can see, there are many ingredients that include cheddar cheese, whey as well as whey protein concentrate as well as buttermilk present. The ingredients are sourced from animals, making Hot Cheetos not vegan.

Other indicators show that Hot Cheetos are not vegan for example:

  1. They are branded with the tagline ‘Made with real cheese’.
  2. They also have mentioned “Contains Milk Ingredients”near the list of ingredients.

It is recommended to stay clear of all varieties of Cheetos which includes Hot Cheetos, if you are a vegan.

Are There any Cheetos products that are vegan?

In the moment, within the US there aren’t any Cheetos that are vegan. There aren’t any in other countries, like Canada and Mexico.

There is a Cheetos flavor available in the UK which is 100% vegan called Cheetos Twisted Flamin’ Hot.

Let’s look at the ingredients in this:

  • Hydrolysed Soy Protein
  • Acidity Regulators
  • Garlic Powder
  • Flamin” Hot Flavor
  • (Maize) (Maize)
  • Grapeseed Oil
  • Flavour Enhancers
  • Soya Derivatives
  • Wheat Derivatives
  • Fructose
  • Dried Onion powder
  • Salt
  • Colours (Paprika Extract, Sulphite Ammonia Caramel)

This is because, as you observe, there aren’t any dairy-based ingredients, or even cheese, which is the main ingredient in virtually every Cheetos product sold in the US.

There is an exclusion here.

Although the ingredients are all non-vegan, there may be a chance that “flavor enhancers” could contain ingredients that aren’t vegetarian since the specific ingredients aren’t specified.

If you truly would like to experience Cheetos and you’re interested, you are able to purchase this British-based Cheetos Twisted Flamin’ Hot on the internet.

Can You Make Vegan Cheetos At Home?

It’s achievable to prepare vegetarian Cheetos at home, provided you have the correct combination of ingredients. There is a method to follow in order to make your own vegan Cheetos.


There are three kinds of ingredients to create your own Cheetos that include the dry ingredients, wet ingredients, and finally the vegan cheese-based coating.

Dry Ingredients

  • 3 cups of cornmeal
  • One cup Sorghum flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 cup of potatoes starch (or make use of tapioca, arrowroot or cornstarch)
  • Three tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 3 teaspoons of xanthan gum
  • 1/4 cup fine brown rice
  • Half teaspoon of salt

Wet Ingredients

  • Half cup cold water iced
  • 3 Tablespoons vegan-friendly butter

for Vegan cheese-based Coating

  • Salt 1/4 teaspoon
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • Three tablespoons blended and nutritional yeast


Once you have everything and in your kitchen, you can begin the process of making your own Cheetos that are vegan! What you’ll need to do:

  1. Mix the Dry ingredients:The beginning step mixing all dry ingredients in the bowl.
  2. Add Butter to Dry ingredients:To dry components, mix in vegan butter. Utilizing a fork, chop and blend the butter so that you have the mixture is crumbly. Begin to form this dough using cold water gradually until the consistency is slippery and pipable.
  3. Set up your Oven:You have to adjust the oven’s temperature to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. After that, grab out your baking dish and cover it with parchment paper.
  4. Piping the dough:Pour it into the piping bag, and pipe it on baking pans. Then, place into the oven to allow those Vegan Cheetos cook for about 12-15 minutes. Then, take the tray out and allow them to cool.
  5. Coat the Cheetos:Coat each Cheeto by coating them with olive oil. Then, place the coated Cheetos in an airtight bag, sprinkle on the cheese-based vegan seasoning add the cheese seasoning, and shake!
  6. Bake Once More:Place those cheese-coated Cheetos onto a baking sheet once more and bake for approximately 5 more minutes.

Enjoy them and enjoy hot, crisp and delicious Cheetos made from vegans in your own home!

Other Questions Asked

We’ve now looked at Cheetos and observed how they aren’t compatible with a vegan lifestyle, let’s look at some related questions about the topic!

What are the vegan alternatives to Cheetos?

Don’t be embarrassed if you aren’t able to eat Cheetos when you’re vegan! In the end, there are several alternatives that are vegan to Cheetos that are available.

Peatos”Fiery Hot snack among the closest snacks similar to Flamin’ Hot Cheetos today. It’s extremely crunchy sweet, spicy, delicious and somewhat reminiscent of Cheetos as well..

Be aware that although it’s not exactly as delicious as Cheetos but it’s an excellent substitute if you’re vegan.

There aren’t any dairy products in Peatos snacks, which makes it the most alternatives for vegans to Cheetos now!

If you are a huge cheese lover and would prefer Cheetos that are not spicy, vegan and non-spicy, choose Hippeas’ Vegan White Cheddar.

It is a great product since it’s very easy to eat and also crunchy! The ingredients are vegan..

It’s mostly made up of chickpeas. The cheese-like flavor of this puff is due to inclusion of white cheddar, a vegan cheese. It makes them taste like Cheetos Cheese puffs!

In addition to the fact that it is vegan the product is organic and gluten free and kosher..

Are Cheetos vegetarian?

Cheetos are not vegan, but did you know that they are not vegetarian? There aren’t any meat-based items inside, however the cheese that is used in Cheetos isn’t vegetarian.

Cheese is made from two kinds of Rennet: Microbial rennet as well as animals-derived rennetThe first is vegetarian, while the second is not vegetarian..

It’s because animal-derived Rennet comes from the intestines of animals.

Today, the cheese in Cheetos is rennet derived from animals which means it is not suitable for vegans, but vegetarians too. Cheetos also contain Whey, which is also derived from animals..

Therefore, if you’re vegetarian, it’s possible to stay clear of Cheetos because of its non-vegetarian ingredients within the product.

Are Cheetos gluten-free?

If you suffer from an allergy to gluten, there’s great news for those of you: Cheetos sold in the US is completely free of gluten! They are even listed as a food that is gluten-free on Frito-Lay’s website.

This is due to the fact that gluten is commonly present in wheat-based products. Cheetos puffs are made with corn-based ingredients like cornmeal, which is safe and gluten-free for consumption!

Are Cheetos kosher?

The truth is that Cheetos are not in essence Kosher. If you go to the Frito-Lay site for the list of Kosher-certified Kosher items, then you will not see any Cheetos items or flavors listed on the site.

It could be due to the fact that the cheese made from rennet used in Cheetos isn’t the product of animals killed and processed according to Kosher law. Kosher law.

What other chips and snacks are vegan?

If you’re comfortable with something distinct from Cheetos and you’re looking for something different, we strongly suggest trying the following vegan chips!

1. Taco Bell Tortilla Chips

Taco Bell is one of the most well-known chains that cater to vegans in the present. In fact, they’ve even launched completely vegan Tortilla chips.

Three flavors are available on this site: the classic one, Mild, and Fire. This is an excellent snack for those who want to move away from Cheetos!

2. Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos

What if you don’t enjoy Cheetos that are hot and spicy? There’s always Doritos with a spicy sweet chili flavor that are extremely tasty with the right amount spice and crunch.

It is possible to make vegan nachos by using these Doritos for a filling snack!

4. Tostitos Scoops

Tostitos Scoops are definitely a distinctive type of snack due to their shape and taste. The best part is that they’re completely non-vegan and are a great choice for those who want to move out of Cheetos.

Because they’re scoops you can use them with any dip you like!

Roundup of Cheetos Not Being Vegan

It’s regrettable that something as delicious as Cheetos isn’t available in vegan versions.

Every Cheetos package contains dairy-based ingredients, like buttermilk or cheese seasoning..

Furthermore the cheese used is not only non-vegan, but also non-vegetarian because it is made from the stomach linings of animals.

Also, Cheetos are neither vegan nor vegetarian.

However, don’t despair! We’ve got you covered with a variety of Cheetos alternatives, as well as vegan chips that will satisfy your cravings quickly. Just switch to them and discover your preferred snack that is vegan!

Norah Clark

Norah Clark

Norah Clark, the founder and editor of YummyTasteFood! She's a seasoned food writer and editor with over a decade of experience in the hospitality industry as a former pastry chef, sous chef, and barista. When not writing about food, she explores new recipes or travels the world for culinary inspiration.